The Sign of the Cross

We begin our Guide to Latin Prayers with the Signum Crucis (SEE-nyoom KROO-chees). Catholics, since ancient times, have made the Signum Crucis at the beginning and ending of prayers. The Signum Crucis is so important that we even begin the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass with It. All total, the Sign of the Cross is made 52 times in the Traditional Latin Mass. 

St. Cyril of Jerusalem teaches us: “let us then not be ashamed to confess the Crucified. Be the cross our seal, made with boldness by our fingers on our brow and in every thing; over the bread we eat and the cups we drink, in our comings and in goings; before our sleep, when we lie down and when we awake; when we are travelling, and when we are at rest.”

Our Guide uses ecclesiastical Latin pronunciation. Also, the capitalized syllables represent the stressed part of the word being pronounced. Take note that a Latin s sounds like s in the English word house, never to be pronounced like hose

In nomine Patris
(een NOH-mee-nay PAH-trees)

et Filii
(eht FEE-lee-ee)

et Spiritus Sancti
(eht SPEAR-ee-toos SAHNC-tee)